Friday, November 18, 2011

Races for 2012

So for those of you who like or love to run (or walk) or do races here is the list of ones I plan on doing this year.  I have signed up for many already so if you are going to be there let me know so we can at least get a picture together.  And if you can't do the distance I am doing many have walking portions too.  =-)

Tinker Bell Half Marathon:  Annaheim:  January 29th

Shamrock Run 15K: Portland:  March 18th

Run for the Roses Half Marathon: Portland:  April 1st

Rock -n- Roll Half Marathon: Portland:  May 20th

Pac-Crest (Pacific Crest): Sunriver: June 23rd

All Women's Duathlon/Triathlon: Fairview (Blue Lake):  TBA  Usually the last weekend in July

Scandi Run 10K: Junction City: August 11th (?)

Portland Marathon: Portland: October 7th  

Wednesday, November 16, 2011

My reason to run!

It came to me the other day..the thoughts of pure euphoria that I had signed up for a marathon...okay I didn't actually sign up Rob did for me as a gift but still now I have to run it.  But I was so excited and scared that I wanted to cry and throw up all at the same time.  I was NEVER a track person growing up.  I remember HATING with a passion running through the dirt trail next to Oaklea for the 1 mile loop.  I hated every minute of it.  And now fast forward 25 years later (ouch) I am going to run a marathon.  I know several of my family members and friends have ran marathons and most probably will have done it faster and  more easily.  But for once in my life I can leave the full throttle OCD type A personality at the door...or the starting line.  If you know me you know I can be a BIT competitive.  But I learned early on that I would never be the fastest and that is okay. 

I remember doing one my first races down in Eugene at the Truffle Trot.  My mom cheered me on and was so proud of me for finishing but mostly for just doing it.  Then for a few years my mom actually participated in quite a few races.  Several times she was the last one to finish but she didn't care.  She was out there running and she finished and that is all that mattered.  And I was so incredibly proud of her.  I will always remember those times and if I am ever the last one in a race with the motorcycle cop following closely behind me I will feel proud and just keep moving to the finish line.

Bare with me...like usual this is probably all scattered but that is just how I think and I am definitely not a writer.

So a few years back I participated in a Duathlon....my first real race besides the Shamrock run....and I was so excited about it.  But my mom couldn't be there to cheer me on due to the damn cancer.  But I made sure she was "there" with me.  I called her at the start and at the transition and told her how I was doing and how much fun it was.  My coach at the time had to laugh because my transition time was a bit on the long side but he completely understood.  I didn't care.  I had my mom with me in spirit and cheering me on half way through the race and at the finish line.  Honestly I would have called her during the race but I would have probably twisted my ankle or crashed.  lol  I will never forget that race.

One weekend my mom was able to come up and watch Rob do a triathlon.  She had so much fun.  She was heavy in the midst of all her cancer treatments and didn't get around that good but she cheered on every racer.  She was so proud of Rob and so thrilled at the whole experience.  She looked forward to seeing me race later on that summer.  I figured out a race that she could come up and see.  But then I realized it was twice the distance that I normally do.  I cried so hard and told her about it and that I knew it might be a little too much for me but I would do it so she could watch me do it.  She reassured me that there would be another race and she would see me race.  Well I got pregnant that fall and realized I wouldn't probably be able to race the next summer and it was then I knew I had lost my chance.

My mom passed away before she could ever see me race.  I raced in my 3rd duathlon the year after I had Lindsey and I raced it for mom.  I knew she was up there watching me finish and giving me that extra boost to keep me going. 

So I run because I can and because my mom can't... because I know she is watching over me during the races.... because I know how proud she would have been of me.  Which makes me so proud of myself. 

So I am sorry for all the posts on FB and emails and just plain conversation about running or races but I lost my chance to share this with my mom.  And I lost my chance for us to race together again.  So you get to hear all about it.

So I run because I can and because I know she is watching me cheering me on.